2020-21 AC Invitations

There is a new Edwina Thompson Silver Tray Champion! After winning the previous two seasons, John Christie (Thames Valley) attended the Edwina Thompson Silver Tray at Takapuna Croquet Club over the past weekend trying to achieve a rare feat, a 3-peat.

Although putting a strong case forward, it wasn’t to be as Steve Clarke (Bay of Plenty) claimed the 2020-21 Edwina Thompson Silver Tray title.

Clarke was nearly perfect on his way to the title, winning 9 of his 10 games with an impressive +103 net hoops. His only loss coming to Vincent Commarieu (Auckland). Christie finished second with 7 wins while Commarieu claimed third with 6 wins.

Wellington’s Len Lea has emerged victorious at the Roger Murfitt Trophy Invitation at Petone Central Croquet Club after four days of competition. Lea also won 9 out of 10 games on route to his title with +110 net hoops. His only loss coming to Terry Price (Manawatu-Wanganui).

Jim Wardle (Auckland) claimed second with 7 wins and Carissa Price (Manawatu-Wanganui) secured third with 6 wins.

The Mrs R.A. Clarke Copper Tray Invitation held at Leamington Croquet Club was a hotly contested tournament with four players tied on 6 wins after the three days.

All four players entered the final round with 5 wins and ensured it would be a nail-biting finish as each secured last round victories to ensure the title would be decided by net-hoops. It was Bonnie Johnstone (South Taranaki and +36) who had the superior net hoops, +4 over Mike McClure (Nelson and +32), and would claim the 2020-21 Mrs R.A. Clarke Copper Tray. Carey Johnstone (South Taranaki) secured third with +23 over Allister McGregor (Waikato-King Country) who had +21.

Full scores can be found below:
Miss Edwina Thompson Silver Tray
Roger Murfitt Trophy
Mrs R.A. Clarke Copper Tray