2018/19 New Zealand Men’s and Women’s Championships

The 2018/19 New Zealand Men’s and Women’s Championships were held at Rangatira Croquet Club from Wednesday 20th to Sunday 24th February.  Eight mixed doubles pairs vied for the doubles crown while there were eight players in both the Men’s and Women’s Singles Championships.

The Mixed Doubles Championship saw Steve Jones (Manawatu-Wanganui) and Alison Robinson (Wellington) reclaim the title the last won in 2016.  Jones and Robinson won 5 of their 6 games on the way to claiming the title, only dropping one game to Dennis Bulloch (Manawatu-Wanganui) and Janet Boutel (Wellington) in section play.  John Christie (Thames Valley) and Pamela Fisher (Waikato-King Country) finished second.

In the Women’s Singles Championship, Nina Mayard-Husson (Wellington) won her third straight Women’s title.  Mayard-Husson didn’t drop a game on her way to the final before overcoming Fisher in the final 26-21, 26-21.  Fisher fought hard to make the final with both of her previous matches going to the third and deciding game.  Bonnie Johnstone (South Taranaki) won the plate.

With both Aiken Hakes and Greg Bryant not competing, this year would see a new Men’s champion crowned for the first time in 6 years.  The final was played between Bulloch and Christie and with the best of 3 match tied at 1-all, time ran out to complete the match and the title was shared. Peter Filbee (South Taranaki) won the plate.

For the full results click here.