NZ Men’s and Women’s Championships

The 2020/21 Men’s and Women’s Championship saw a decreased number of entries which resulted in the Mixed Doubles being cancelled.

That didn’t dampen the spirits of the 4 participants in each of the Men’s and Women’s Championships. With the reduced number of entries, play was reduced to 2 days with block play on Saturday and a best-of-3 final on Sunday.

In the Women’s, Heather Richardson (Manawatu-Wanganui) qualified top going unbeaten on Saturday. Baubre Murray (Wellington) secured her place in the final against Richardson winning 2 of her games.

It was Wellington’s Paul Skinley who managed to go unbeaten on day 1 of the Men’s Championship and qualifying top of the block. Dennis Bulloch (Manawatu-Wanganui) ensured that it would be Wellington vs Manawatu-Wanganui in both finals after he qualified second with 2 wins.

Sunday brought with it some horrible weather. Torrential rain part way through the first games forced the players to abandon play for 3 hours.
When the Women’s final resumed, Richardson continued her unbeaten run in the event. Winning the final 22-18, 26-21 to win the 2020-21 Women’s Championship. Janet Boutel (Wellington) beat Bonnie Johnstone (Sth Taranaki) 26-21 in the 3v4 game.
In the Men’s final, Bulloch ensured that both trophies would remain in Manawatu-Wanganui beating Skinley 22-18 to claim the 2020-21 Men’s Championship. Stefan Horrer (Wairarapa) beat Carey Johnstone (Sth Taranaki) 26-22 in the 3v4 game.

Full results can be found here.