6th Women's World Golf Croquet Championships hosted by Croquet Hawke's Bay 2-9 February 2019
All the Players and some of the Organising Committee, Managers & Tournament Director

This photo was taken by Willy Ransfield of Design Studio who made the scoreboards. He framed it and donated it with the instructions that it be auctioned at the Presentation Dinner with the proceeds to go to Cranford Hospice. The winning bid was from the Heretaunga Croquet Club for $750.

NZ Players and Officials - 6th Women's World Golf Croquet Championships hosted by Croquet Hawke's Bay 2-9 February 2019.

Left to right: Jenny Clarke (Canterbury) Ashley Cooke (Bay of Plenty) Helen Reeves (Hawkes Bay) John Christie (Tournament Director Thames Valley) Sue Truman (Waikato King Country) Ann Sharp (Otago) Phyllis Young (Thames Valley) Moya Lewis (Taranaki) Eleanor Ross (Nelson) Pat Anderton (Counties Manukau) Marion Taylor (Auckland) Sally Cole (Auckland) Dallas Cooke (Bay of Plenty) Sonya Sedgwick (Hawkes Bay) Geoff Young (Manager Thames Valley)
Sue Roberts (Bay of Plenty) Annie Henry (Nelson)

Steve Jones

Steve Jones



Updated August 2016


Year started playing croquet:                        1957                 Age:               65

Year started tournament croquet:     1978                Occupation:    Writer


Club membership:


2010- :                         Rangatira, Dannevirke, New Zealand

2003-2011:                  Bribie Island, Queensland, Australia

1999-2003:                  Windsor, Brisbane, Australia

1991-2001; 2015- :      Wellington Municipal, New Zealand

1987-1989; 2012-2015:           Hastings, New Zealand

1990-1999:                  Naenae, Lower Hutt, New Zealand

1982-1990; 1992-1999: Waimarie, Lower Hutt, New Zealand

1979-1981:                  Coal Research Establishment Cronies Club, England

1978-1981:                  Cheltenham, England


Croquet Representation:


INTERNATIONAL:     MacRobertson Shield team: 1990, 1993, 1996, 2000 (Captain),

2006 (Australia, Reserve), 2010 (Australia, Team Coach/Manager)

NZ Representative: 1990, 1996

Trans Tasman Test team: 1994, 1995, 1999 (Captain),

2009 (Australia, Team Coach)

North-west England Representative: 2010

Sonoma World Championship: 1988, 1989, 1990, 1992, 1997, 2000

WCF World Championship:  1991, 1992, 1994, 1995, 1997, 2008, 2012,

2013, 2016


PROVINCIAL:            Wellington v Manawatu: 1994, 1997

Queensland (Interstate Cup): 2006, 2008


Croquet Playing Achievements:



NZ MacRobertson Shield 4

NZ Trans Tasman Test 3

Sonoma World Championship 1

NZ National Titles: 15

NZ Open 1

NZ Open Doubles 4


2016:   NZ Mixed Doubles – Runner-up (with Alison Robinson)

2013:   NZ Medals, Silver (Winner)

2011:   NZ Veterans Open Singles Champion

2006:   Member of Australlian MacRobertson Shield team (Reserve)

2006:   Member of winning Queensland Interstate Cup team

2000:   Captain of NZ MacRobertson Shield team

1999:   Captain of NZ Trans Tasman Test team

1999:   NZ Open Doubles – Runner-up (with Toby Garrison)

1998:   NZ Open Doubles Champion (with Toby Garrison)

1998:   NZ Mallets, Silver (Runner-up)

1997:   NZ Open Doubles Champion (with Paul Skinley)

1997:   Senior A Silver Badge

1997:   Senior A Silver Badge (Northern)

1996:   Member of NZ MacRobertson Shield team

1996:   NZ Open Champion  

1996:   Senior A Silver Badge

1995:   Member of NZ Trans Tasman Test team

1995:   NZ Open Doubles Champion (with Paul Skinley)

1994:   Member of NZ Trans Tasman Test team

1994:   NZ President’s Invitation 16 – Runner-up

1993:   Member of NZ MacRobertson Shield team

1993:   NZ Open Doubles – Runner-up (with Brian Wislang)

1993:   President’s Invitation 16 – Runner-up

1992:   NZ Open – Runner-up

1992:   Senior A Silver Badge

1991:   North Island Championships – Mens Champion

1991:   North Island Championships – Doubles Champion (with Aaron Westerby)

1991:   President’s Invitation 16 – Runner-up

1990:   Member of NZ MacRobertson Shield team

1990:   Sonoma World Championship – Runner-up

1989:   Sonoma World Championship – Winner

1989:   NZ Open Doubles Champion (with Tony Stephens)

1988:   NZ Medals, Bronze (Runner-up)

1987:   NZ President’s Invitation 1st Eight – Winner

1987:   NZI National Handicap Singles – Winner

1983:   NZ President’s Invitation 1st Eight – Runner-up


Team Management:


2008-2011: Australia Team Coach

2010:          Team Coach & Manager, Australian MacRobertson Shield team

1995:           Manager, Lower NI Teams event


Croquet Administration:


2008-2011: Senior Vice President, Australian Croquet Association

1997- 2000:     NZCC Executive member

1995:          Wellington Croquet Association (WCA): Immediate Past President

1993-1994: WCA President

1994:          WCA Referee

1991-1992: President, Naenae Croquet Club

1991-1992: WCA Vice President

1987-89:     WCA Handicapper

1985-86:     WCA Hutt Valley Regional Representative


Other Achievements:


Author: “Peel Appeal”, published March 1997

Triple peels achieved in matches: 536


Croquet Qualifications:



Coach (Level 2)


Other Hobbies/Interests:

Writing, music, food and wine appreciation, astronomy, travel