2021 MacRobertson Shield

While most people are focused on the upcoming Golf Croquet World Teams Championship, the initial New Zealand squad for the 2021 MacRobertson Shield has just been announced.

This squad is made up of 15 players with a mixture of experience and youth. An overview of the squads AC acheivements includes:

  • 11 players in the squad have MacRobertson Shield experience
  • 5 of the 6 players who won the 2014 MacRobertson Shield
  • 2 Association Croquet World Champions
  • 1 Women’s Association Croquet World Champion
  • 3 members of the current Golf Croquet World Teams Championship team

The squad at a glance:
– Paddy Chapman (West Coast)
– Greg Bryant (West Coast)
– Jenny Clarke (Canterbury)
– Aiken Hakes (Wellington)
– Toby Garrison (Wellington)
– Aaron Westerby (Auckland)
– Edmund Fordyce (Canterbury)
– Chris Shilling (Otago)
– Josh Freeth (Canterbury)
– Felix Webby (Taranaki)
– Paul Skinley (Wellington)
– Harps Tahurangi (Wellington)
– Joe Hogan (Hawkes Bay)
– Michael Wright (Wellington)
– Logan McCorkindale (South Canterbury)

A reduced squad of 8 players will be selected in 2020 before the final team of 6 players will be selected in 2021.