6th Women's World Golf Croquet Championships hosted by Croquet Hawke's Bay 2-9 February 2019
All the Players and some of the Organising Committee, Managers & Tournament Director

This photo was taken by Willy Ransfield of Design Studio who made the scoreboards. He framed it and donated it with the instructions that it be auctioned at the Presentation Dinner with the proceeds to go to Cranford Hospice. The winning bid was from the Heretaunga Croquet Club for $750.

NZ Players and Officials - 6th Women's World Golf Croquet Championships hosted by Croquet Hawke's Bay 2-9 February 2019.

Left to right: Jenny Clarke (Canterbury) Ashley Cooke (Bay of Plenty) Helen Reeves (Hawkes Bay) John Christie (Tournament Director Thames Valley) Sue Truman (Waikato King Country) Ann Sharp (Otago) Phyllis Young (Thames Valley) Moya Lewis (Taranaki) Eleanor Ross (Nelson) Pat Anderton (Counties Manukau) Marion Taylor (Auckland) Sally Cole (Auckland) Dallas Cooke (Bay of Plenty) Sonya Sedgwick (Hawkes Bay) Geoff Young (Manager Thames Valley)
Sue Roberts (Bay of Plenty) Annie Henry (Nelson)

2019 Don Reyland Stars

Players from around the country converged on Morrinsville Croquet Club over the weekend to contest the premier GC Handicap event in the country, The Don Reyland Stars Tournament.  13 Associations were represented by players who had won through their respective club and Association play-offs for the right to contest the National Title.

This season saw a wide range of handicaps from a -4 right up to a 10.

After a single round robin was played, Hamish McIntosh (Auckland, -4) and Robbie Spooner (Wellington, 3) found themselves locked at 10 wins each.  McIntosh was the only person standing in the way of Spooner claiming his third title in as many weekends having already secured the Arthur Ross Memorial Final and CA Gold Cup Invitation titles.

In the final, Spooner was looking to reverse his fortunes from the round robin having lost to McIntosh 0-7 previously in the tournament.  McIntosh, however, was too good securing the title with a 7-4 win over Spooner in the final.

To see all the results, click here.

Comments are closed.