2019 AGM Update

Over the weekend of the 5th and 6th of October, delegates from every Associations joined the CNZ Executive, staff and CNZ Life Members in Wellington for the 2019 Annual General Meeting.

During the weekend, new members were elected to the Executive, two Life Members were elected, the annual awards were announced and three people were inducted into the CNZ Hall of Fame.

Elections were held for the President, one Vice-President and three Councillor roles.
Tony O’Donnell (Canterbury) was elected as the South Island representative on the Executive as a Councillor. The other two Councillors elected were Dallas Cooke (Bay of Plenty) and Grant Poulton (Wairarapa).
Rod Templeman (Northland) was elected as Vice-President and Kathie Grant (Auckland) was elected as the new President.
The 5 newly elected members join Phyllis Young (Vice-President – Thames Valley) and George Coulter (Councillor – Bay of Plenty) on the Executive.

During the AGM, Life Members were elected for the first time since 2012. Geoff Young (Thames Valley) and Paul Skinley (Wellington) were both recognised for their respective contributions to croquet in New Zealand with Croquet New Zealand Life Membership’s.

Following the AGM, the annual awards dinner was held where individuals and clubs were recognised for their success over the past 12 months.

The awards recipients were:
Presidents Trophy: Taupo Croquet Club (Bay of Plenty)
Huon Pine Bowl: Cashmere Croquet Club (Canterbury) and Masterton Croquet Club (Wairarapa)
Club Participation Award: Fendalton Park Croquet Club (Canterbury) and Rose Gardens Croquet Club (Manawatu-Wanganui)
Baker Trophy – most improved AC: Robbie Spooner (Wellington)
Most Improved GC: Josh Winter (Canterbury)
Volunteer of the Year: Doug Nottage (Nelson)
Contribution to Croquet: Paul Skinley (Wellington)
Player of the Year: Jenny Clarke (Canterbury)

Following the awards, Hector Straton (Hawkes Bay), Toby Garrison (Wellington) and Jenny Clarke (Canterbury) were inducted in the Croquet New Zealand Hall of Fame for their respective success on the national and international scene.