6th Women's World Golf Croquet Championships hosted by Croquet Hawke's Bay 2-9 February 2019
All the Players and some of the Organising Committee, Managers & Tournament Director

This photo was taken by Willy Ransfield of Design Studio who made the scoreboards. He framed it and donated it with the instructions that it be auctioned at the Presentation Dinner with the proceeds to go to Cranford Hospice. The winning bid was from the Heretaunga Croquet Club for $750.

NZ Players and Officials - 6th Women's World Golf Croquet Championships hosted by Croquet Hawke's Bay 2-9 February 2019.

Left to right: Jenny Clarke (Canterbury) Ashley Cooke (Bay of Plenty) Helen Reeves (Hawkes Bay) John Christie (Tournament Director Thames Valley) Sue Truman (Waikato King Country) Ann Sharp (Otago) Phyllis Young (Thames Valley) Moya Lewis (Taranaki) Eleanor Ross (Nelson) Pat Anderton (Counties Manukau) Marion Taylor (Auckland) Sally Cole (Auckland) Dallas Cooke (Bay of Plenty) Sonya Sedgwick (Hawkes Bay) Geoff Young (Manager Thames Valley)
Sue Roberts (Bay of Plenty) Annie Henry (Nelson)

CNZ Executive

Croquet New Zealand has an Executive which is made up of financial members of affiliated Associations and is elected at the AGM in line with the Constitution.

The Executive is made up of 7 positions.  1 President, 2 vice Presidents and 4 Councillors.  At least one of the Councillors must be from a South Island Association and one must be from a North Island Association.

The current Executive is:

Annie Henry (President) – elected October 2017

Annie is in her second term as CNZ President. She served on the Executive as a Councillor and Vice-President before being elected as President. She is a member of the Nelson Hinemoa Croquet Club in Nelson.  She is the Convenor of the Publicity and Marketing Committee and the Tournament Committee.

Annie’s professional background is in education. Her last position was professor of Educational Leadership in the USA. Prior to joining the university facility she was a teacher and principal. She and her husband, Mike Milstein, have co-authored books on resiliency. She has served on various boards during her 18 years in NZ.


Phyllis Young (Vice-President) – elected October 2018

Phyllis joined the Morrinsville Croquet Club in 1984.  She has been actively involved in the club serving as secretary for 3 years.  For the past 5 years Phyllis has been the President of Thames Valley Croquet Association.  Phyllis has previous be a Councillor on the CNZ Executive from 2006 to 2010.

Phyllis has represented New Zealand in both the AC and GC Trans-Tasman series as well as competing in 5 Women’s Golf Croquet World Championships.


Aaron Westerby (Councillor) – elected October 2017

Aaron started playing croquet in 1986 having been introduced to the game by his grandmother. He has played extensively at national and international level for over 20 years, including captaining NZ’s winning 2014 MacRobertson Shield team. He has previously served on CNZ’s Tournament and AC Selection committees. A software developer, he resides in Auckland with his young family.


George Coulter (Councillor) – co-opted March 2018

George first picked up a mallet back in 2011 having been introduced to the world of croquet by his grandparents, Mike and Zyelette Shepherd, both long standing members of their local club. George is a member of the Whakatane Croquet Club.

His croquet highlights include being the Silver medalist in the 2017 U21 Worlds, winning the Plate event in the 2017 Open GC Worlds, placing 1st in the 2018 Golf Croquet National Doubles with Edmund Fordyce and being runner up in the 2018 Golf Croquet National Open Singles.

George is in his third year studying a Retail and Business Management degree at Massey University.


Current vacancies: Vice-President, Councillor x2