The place for
everything croquet in Aotearoa

14-22 January 2017 – New Zealand Open

14-22 January 2017 – New Zealand Open

Croquet New Zealand Presents The New Zealand Open Championships Held by the Bay of Plenty Croquet Association at Mt Maunganui, Katikati and Whakatane from Saturday 14th to Sunday 22nd January 2017 from 8:30am

Manager: TBA

Asst Manager: Dallas Cooke Ph: (07) 5759783 Email:

Referee: TBA

Headquarters: Croquet Mount Maunganui, 45 Kawaka Street, Mt Maunganui Other Venues: Katikati & Whakatane Croquet Clubs

Entries: Entries close Thursday 29th December 2016 – Register online at, or – send copy of Official Entry Form with all entry fees to CNZ, Executive Director, PO Box 11259, Wellington 6142

Entry Fees: Event 1: $100 includes entry to event 1(a), Event 2: $50

Draw: Tournament Manager.

Catering: A clubhouse fee of $3 per day (which includes tea/coffee/light refreshments) will be paid by all players to the host club.


1. New Zealand Open Championship: Open to all. Play will commence with seeded Block play. Depending on entries, the intention is to have 32 players qualify for the Open Singles Knockout. Each match will be played as best-of-three games, except that the manager may choose to play best-of-five matches from the quarter finals onwards. Challenge Cup presented by J.W. Lill and the Rene Watkins Gold Medal to be held for one year. 2015–16 winner- Greg Bryant Runner-up will receive the John Prince Trophy presented by A.D.J. Heenan, OBE. 2014–15 – Paul Skinley

1(a) Heenan Plate: All players entered in event 1 who do not qualify for the Open Singles Knockout are eligible to enter the Heenan Plate. Trophy presented by A.D.J. Heenan, OBE. 2015–16 winner- Harps Tahurangi

2. New Zealand Championship Doubles: Open to all. Play will commence with seeded blocks. Those qualifying from the blocks will proceed into post-section play. Shields presented by Messrs E.G. Rawnsley and N.H. MacFarlane. 2015–16 – Greg Bryant & Felix Webby

2(a) Doubles Plate: Open to pairs in event 2 that have not qualified for the main doubles knockout. Single -game knockout format. Entry is optional- 2015–16 –Steve Jones & Steve Clarke

3. All players with a New Zealand handicap of 0 or higher will be automatically considered for the Charles Jones Memorial Encouragement Salver. The Salver will be awarded to the player with the best record in the handicap range as determined by the Tournament Management Committee. Trophy presented by Alison Mcmillan. 2015–16 – Felix Webby


1. Advanced Play.

2. Hoops will be set to the widest axis of any ball to be used on the lawn plus 1 /32” with an upwards tolerance of zero and a downward tolerance of 1 /64th of an inch

3. As many entries will be accepted as possible with entries limited only if the number of players per available lawn is exceeded.

4. The Doubles will be played on Saturday, Sunday and Monday. The Singles will commence on Tuesday.

5. Information on the playing schedule and other issues will be posted on the national website at after entries have closed.

6. **The seeding for the Singles Knockout will be by a trial method in 2016-17 not the method outlined in Appendix 1(a) of the Tournament Regulations** The Manager will provide players with an outline of the method after entries close.

Dawson International Balls